Electrical and Computer Engineering

People

Faculty

 
Paul Ampadu

Ampadu, Paul

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
paul.ampadu@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5753
417 CSB
Website

Interests: Energy-efficient VLSI design of complex signal processing and communications functions; Error-control coding; Systems-on-chip reliability

David Blackstock

Blackstock, David

Visiting Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
david.blackstock@.rochester.edu
Hopeman Engineering Building

Interests: Nonlinear Acoustics; Biomedical Ultrasound

Mark Bocko

Bocko, Mark

Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor, Physics & Astronomy
Technical Director, Center for Future Health
Affiliated Faculty, Eastman School of Music, Music Theory
Director, Center for Emerging and Innovative Sciences (CEIS)

Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
mark.bocko@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4879
518 CSB
Website

Interests: Sensors and transducers; Low-noise electronics; High speed digital superconducting electronics; quantum coherent electronics and quantum noise; Microelectronic fabrication; Microwaves; Nonlinear dynamics; Digital signal processing; Musical acoustics; Digital audio

Regine Choe

Choe, Regine

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

regine_choe@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4374
MC 5-7233A Medical Center
Website

Interests: Diffuse optics for in vivo cancer detection, diagnosis and therapy monitoring

Jean-Philippe Couderc

Couderc, Jean-Philippe

Research Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Research Associate Professor, Medicine-Cardiology

Jean-philippe.couderc@heart.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1096
RM G11001C MRBX
Website

Interests: Physiological signal processing; Medical software design; Quantitative electrocardiograph; Clinical study design and implementation; Cardiac Safety

Diane Dalecki

Dalecki, Diane

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Director, Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound
diane.dalecki@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7378
310 Goergen Hall
Website

Lisa DeLouise

DeLouise, Lisa

Associate Professor of Dermatology
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

lisa_delouise@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1810
6-6823A M&D
Website

Victor V. Derefinko

Derefinko, Victor V.

Adjunct Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
derefink@ece.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9402
305 HPN

Hanan Dery

Dery, Hanan

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
hanan.dery@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3870
411 CSB

Interests: Semiconductor spin electronics

William Donaldson

Donaldson, William R.

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Scientist. Laboratory for Laser Energetics

billd@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5347
2421 Laboratory for Laser Energetics (LLE)

Marvin Doyley

Doyley, Marvin

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
m.doyley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3774
333 HPN
Website

Interests: Therapeutic and diagnostic imaging using optical, magnetic resonance, and ultrasound imaging

Zhiyao Duan

Duan, Zhiyao

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
zhiyao.duan@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5302
308 HPN
Website

Interests: Computer Audition; Audio Signal Processing; Machine Learning; Music Information Retrieval

Sandhya Dwarkadas

Dwarkadas, Sandhya

Professor of Computer Science
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

sandhya.dwarkadas@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5647
717 CSB
Website

James R. Fienup

Fienup, James R.

Robert E. Hopkins Professor of Optics
Professor in the Center for Visual Sciences and of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics

fienup@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8009
410 WIL
Website

Interests: Phase retrieval; Wavefront sensing; Image reconstruction and restoration; Unconventional imaging; Digital holography; Imaging with sparse apertures; Fourier optics; Synthetic-aperture radar

Eby G. Friedman

Friedman, Eby G.

Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
eby.friedman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1022
420 CSB
Website

Interests: CMOS circuits; Clock and power distribution networks; Interconnect design and synthesis; 3-D circuit design and modeling

Dave Headlam

Headlam, Dave

Professor of Music Theory, ESM
Affiliated Faculty in Electrical and Computer Engineering
dheadlam@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 274-1568
70 ESM
Website

Wendi Heinzelman

Heinzelman, Wendi

Professor
Dean of Graduate Studies for Arts, Sciences, and Engineering of The College
wendi.heinzelman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4053
307 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Wireless sensor networks; Mobile ad hoc networks; Multimedia communication; Heterogeneous networking; Cloud computing

Thomas Howard

Howard, Thomas M.

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

thoward@ece.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3755
344 HPN
Website

Interests: Artificial Intelligence; Robotics; Machine Learning; Natural Language Understanding

Thomas Y. Hsiang

Hsiang, Thomas Y.

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
thomas.hsiang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3293
422 Computer Studies Building

Interests: Ultrafast testing; Optoelectronic devices; Terahertz interconnects; Nano-scale magnetic recording

Michael Huang

Huang, Michael

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Computer Science
michael.huang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2111
414 CSB
Website

Interests: High-performance core microarchitecture; Low-power architectural designs; Multiprocessor architecture: performance and reliability; Optical and high-speed interconnect; Scientific computing

Zeljko Ignjatovic

Ignjatovic, Zeljko

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
zeljko.ignjatovic@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3790
419 CSB
Website

Engin Ipek

Ipek, Engin

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Computer Science
engin.ipek@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1420
711 CSB
Website

Interests: Computer architecture; Multicore processors; High-performance memory systems; Energy-efficient computing; Novel computing and memory technologies; Architecture-circuit interaction

Thomas B. Jones

Jones, Thomas B.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Materials Science
thomas.b.jones@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5233
304 HPN
Website

Interests: Microfluidics; Electrowetting and liquid dielectrophoresis; Particle dielectrophoresis; MEMS; Electromechanics; Nomograms; Electrostatics

Faculty Photo

LaVaque, Robert J.

Lecturer, Electrical and Computer Engineering
r.lavaque@rochester.edu
510 CSB

Ming-lun Lee

Lee, Ming-lun

Visiting Assistant Professor of Audio and Music Engineering
minglunlee@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2120
510 CSB

Interests: Audio Programming; Programming for Interactive Multi-media Performance; Audio Preservation ; The Computational Analysis of Musical Performances and Recordings; Benjamin Britten’s Recorded Legacy; The Art of Classical Recording Production

Qiang Lin

Lin, Qiang

Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor, Optics

qiang.lin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3799
342 HPN
Website

Gonzalo Mateos

Mateos, Gonzalo

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
gmateosb@ece.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5930
413 HPN
Website

Interests: Statistical Signal Processing; Networks; Machine Learning; Decentralized Optimization

mcaleavey

McAleavey, Stephen

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and of Electrical and Computer Engineering
stephenm@bme.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7768
309 Goergen Hall
Website

Jack G. Mottley

Mottley, Jack G.

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Biomedical Engineering
jack.mottley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4308
306 HPN
Website

Interests: Nonlinear Physical Modeling of Organ Pipes; Understanding How Virtuoso Organists Elicit Different Sounds from a Pipe Organ Than Do Novices; Enhancing the Organ Practice Room to Emulate the Effects of Different Organs and Performance Spaces; Tactile Feedback (Haptics) of the Pipe Organ, Characterizing and Emulating the Feel of the Keyboard

Ruola Ning

Ning, Ruola

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
ruola_ning@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1350
3-5334 Medical Center
Website

Kevin J. Parker

Parker, Kevin J.

William F. May Professor of Engineering
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, of Biomedical Engineering, and of Radiology

Dean Emeritus, School of Engineering & Applied Sciences
kevin.parker@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3294
203 HPN

Interests: Medical Imaging; 3D and 4D Imaging; CT, MRI, and ultrasound; Multi-dimensional processing and display techniques; Doppler Imaging Techniques; Sonoelasticity; Digital Halftoning; Blue Noise Mask; Color Halftoning

Stephen Roessner

Roessner, Stephen

Lecturer, Instructor of Audio and Music Engineering
stephen.roessner@rochester.edu | (585) 273-3862
511 CSB

Interests: Psychoacoustics of Distributed Mode Loudspeakers; Audio Archival Preservation; Microphone Theory; Audio Recording and Engineering; Instrument Acoustics; Spectral Analysis of Modern Audio

Gaurav Sharma

Sharma, Gaurav

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
gaurav.sharma@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7313
417 HPN
Website

Roman Sobolewski

Sobolewski, Roman

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Physics
Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics

roman.sobolewski@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1551
425 CSB
Website

Tolga Soyata

Soyata, Tolga

Assistant Professor - Research, Electrical & Computer Engineering
tolga.soyata@rochester.edu | (585) 764-8043
505 CSB
Website

Interests: Energy Harvesting for High-Performance Embedded Systems; Employing Super-capacitors in high-performance field systems ; GPU-based High Performance Computing Systems; FPGA-based reconfigurable systems; Hardware/Software Interface in GPU-, FPGA-, and ASIC-based systems; VLSI ASIC-based Big Data acceleration; Energy aware Computing

Robert Waag

Waag, Robert C.

Arthur Gould Yates Professor of Engineering
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

robert.waag@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4430
3-4309 MC
Website

Interests: Wavefront Distortion and Compensation; High-Resolution and Quantitative Imaging

Axel Wismuller

Wismueller, Axel

Professor of Imaging Sciences, of Biomedical Engineering, and of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Axel_Wismueller@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 613-2399
MCA 2-2214 Medical Center

Interests: Mathematical algorithms for computational analysis; Pattern recognition in clinical real-world applications

Hui Wu

Wu, Hui

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
hui.wu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2112
416 CSB
Website

Interests: High-speed electronics; RF and microwave integrated circuits; Wireless and wireline communication circuits and systems; Ultra-wideband radios; Silicon photonics; Electronic-photonic integrated circuits and systems; Photodetectors; High-performance clocking in microprocessors and SoCs; High-speed inter- and intra-chip interconnect; Nanoelectronics and spintronics circuits