Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Faculty

NameResearch InterestContact Information
Paul Ampadu
Paul Ampadu
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Energy-efficient VLSI design of complex signal processing and communications functions

Error-control coding

Systems-on-chip reliability
paul.ampadu@rochester.edu

(585) 273-5753

417 CSB
Mark Bocko
Mark Bocko
Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

Technical Director, Center for Future Health

Affiliated Faculty, Eastman School of Music, Music Theory

Director, Center for Emerging and Innovative Sciences (CEIS)


Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Sensors and transducers

Low-noise electronics

High speed digital superconducting electronics

quantum coherent electronics and quantum noise

Microelectronic fabrication

Microwaves

Nonlinear dynamics

Digital signal processing

Musical acoustics

Digital audio
mark.bocko@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4879

333 HPN
Regine Choe
Regine Choe
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Diffuse optics for in vivo cancer detection, diagnosis and therapy monitoringregine_choe@urmc.rochester.edu

(585) 273-4374

MC 5-7233A Medical Center
Jean-Philippe Couderc
Jean-Philippe Couderc
Research Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Research Associate Professor, Medicine-Cardiology


Physiological signal processing

Medical software design

Quantitative electrocardiograph

Clinical study design and implementation

Cardiac Safety
Jean-philippe.couderc@heart.rochester.edu

(585) 275-1096

RM G11001C MRBX
Diane Dalecki
Diane Dalecki
Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Director, Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound
diane.dalecki@rochester.edu

(585) 275-7378

310 Goergen Hall
Lisa DeLouise
Lisa DeLouise
Associate Professor of Dermatology

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


lisa_delouise@urmc.rochester.edu

(585) 275-1810

6-6823A M&D
Victor V. Derefinko
Victor V. Derefinko
Adjunct Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


derefink@ece.rochester.edu

(585) 275-9402

305 HPN
Hanan Dery
Hanan Dery
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


hanan.dery@rochester.edu

(585) 275-3870

411 CSB
William Donaldson
William R. Donaldson
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Scientist. Laboratory for Laser Energetics


billd@lle.rochester.edu

(585) 275-5347

2421 Laboratory for Laser Energetics (LLE)
Marvin Doyley
Marvin Doyley
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Therapeutic and diagnostic imaging using optical, magnetic resonance, and ultrasound imagingm.doyley@rochester.edu

(585) 275-3774

343 HPN
Zhiyao Duan
Zhiyao Duan
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Computer Audition

Audio Signal Processing

Machine Learning

Music Information Retrieval
zhiyao.duan@rochester.edu

(585) 275-5302

308 HPN
Sandhya Dwarkadas
Sandhya Dwarkadas
Professor of Computer Science

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


sandhya.dwarkadas@rochester.edu

(585) 275-5647

717 CSB
James R. Fienup
James R. Fienup
Robert E. Hopkins Professor of Optics

Professor in the Center for Visual Sciences and of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics


Phase retrieval

Wavefront sensing

Image reconstruction and restoration

Unconventional imaging

Digital holography

Imaging with sparse apertures

Fourier optics

Synthetic-aperture radar
fienup@optics.rochester.edu

(585) 275-8009

410 WIL
Eby G. Friedman
Eby G. Friedman
Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


CMOS circuits

Clock and power distribution networks

Interconnect design and synthesis

3-D circuit design and modeling
eby.friedman@rochester.edu

(585) 275-1022

420 CSB
Dave Headlam
Dave Headlam
Professor of Music Theory, ESM


Affiliated Faculty in Electrical and Computer Engineering
dheadlam@esm.rochester.edu

(585) 274-1568

70 ESM
Wendi Heinzelman
Wendi Heinzelman
Professor


Dean of Graduate Studies for Arts, Sciences, and Engineering
The College
Wireless sensor networks

Mobile ad hoc networks

Multimedia communication

Heterogeneous networking

Cloud computing
wendi.heinzelman@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4053

307 Hopeman
Thomas Howard
Thomas M. Howard
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Assistant Professor of Computer Science


Artificial Intelligence

Robotics

Machine Learning

Natural Language Understanding
thoward@cs.rochester.edu
Thomas Y. Hsiang
Thomas Y. Hsiang
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Ultrafast testing

Optoelectronic devices

Terahertz interconnects

Nano-scale magnetic recording
thomas.hsiang@rochester.edu

(585) 275-3293

422 Computer Studies Building
Michael Huang
Michael Huang
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Computer Science


High-performance core microarchitecture

Low-power architectural designs

Multiprocessor architecture: performance and reliability

Optical and high-speed interconnect

Scientific computing
michael.huang@rochester.edu

(585) 275-2111

414 CSB
Zeljko Ignjatovic
Zeljko Ignjatovic
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


zeljko.ignjatovic@rochester.edu

(585) 275-3790

419 CSB
Engin Ipek
Engin Ipek
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Computer Science


Computer architecture

Multicore processors

High-performance memory systems

Energy-efficient computing

Novel computing and memory technologies

Architecture-circuit interaction
engin.ipek@rochester.edu

(585) 275-1420

711 CSB
Thomas B. Jones
Thomas B. Jones
Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Materials Science


Microfluidics

Electrowetting and liquid dielectrophoresis

Particle dielectrophoresis

MEMS

Electromechanics

Nomograms

Electrostatics
thomas.b.jones@rochester.edu

(585) 275-5233

304 HPN
Robert J. LaVaque
Lecturer, Electrical and Computer Engineering


r.lavaque@rochester.edu

510 CSB
Qiang Lin
Qiang Lin
Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor, Optics


qiang.lin@rochester.edu

(585) 275-3799

342 HPN
Gonzalo Mateos
Gonzalo Mateos
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Statistical Signal Processing

Networks

Machine Learning

Decentralized Optimization
gmateosb@ece.rochester.edu

(585) 275-5930

413 HPN
Stephen McAleavey
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and of Electrical and Computer Engineering


stephenm@bme.rochester.edu

(585) 275-7768

309 Goergen Hall
Jack G. Mottley
Jack G. Mottley
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Biomedical Engineering


Nonlinear Physical Modeling of Organ Pipes

Understanding How Virtuoso Organists Elicit Different Sounds from a Pipe Organ Than Do Novices

Enhancing the Organ Practice Room to Emulate the Effects of Different Organs and Performance Spaces

Tactile Feedback (Haptics) of the Pipe Organ, Characterizing and Emulating the Feel of the Keyboard
jack.mottley@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4308

306 HPN

Ruola Ning
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


ruola_ning@urmc.rochester.edu

(585) 275-1350

3-5334 Medical Center
Kevin J. Parker
Kevin J. Parker
William F. May Professor of Engineering

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, of Biomedical Engineering, and of Radiology


Dean Emeritus, School of Engineering & Applied Sciences
Medical Imaging

3D and 4D Imaging •CT, MRI, and ultrasound •Multi-dimensional processing and display techniques

Doppler Imaging Techniques •Sonoelasticity

Digital Halftoning • Blue Noise Mask •Color Halftoning
kevin.parker@rochester.edu

(585) 275-3294

203 HPN
Gaurav Sharma
Gaurav Sharma
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


gaurav.sharma@rochester.edu

(585) 275-7313

417 HPN
Roman Sobolewski
Roman Sobolewski
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Physics

Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics


roman.sobolewski@rochester.edu

(585) 275-1551

425 CSB
Tolga Soyata
Tolga Soyata
Assistant Professor - Research, Electrical & Computer Engineering


Energy Harvesting for High-Performance Embedded Systems

Employing Super-capacitors in high-performance field systems

GPU-based High Performance Computing Systems

FPGA-based reconfigurable systems

Hardware/Software Interface in GPU-, FPGA-, and ASIC-based systems

VLSI ASIC-based Big Data acceleration

Energy aware Computing
tolga.soyata@rochester.edu

(585) 764-8043

505 CSB

Robert C. Waag
Arthur Gould Yates Professor of Engineering

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


robert.waag@rochester.edu

(585) 275-4430

3-4309 MC

Axel Wismueller
Professor of Imaging Sciences, of Biomedical Engineering, and of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Mathematical algorithms for computational analysis

Pattern recognition in clinical real-world applications
Axel_Wismueller@urmc.rochester.edu

(585) 613-2399

MCA 2-2214 Medical Center
Hui Wu
Hui Wu
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


High-speed electronics

RF and microwave integrated circuits

Wireless and wireline communication circuits and systems

Ultra-wideband radios

Silicon photonics

Electronic-photonic integrated circuits and systems

Photodetectors

High-performance clocking in microprocessors and SoCs

High-speed inter- and intra-chip interconnect

Nanoelectronics and spintronics circuits
hui.wu@rochester.edu

(585) 275-2112

416 CSB

People